13686 updated post view 321

At DUKTA, we have learned that not all wallets are the same and how much creativity and commitment can be put into a single product.

ANZEIGE

***Advertorial***

Why do you have to be so enthusiastic about DUKTA? Because the brand story is so consistently thought out and incredibly authentic. Because the products are so wonderfully minimalist and functional. Because no seam is sewn too much. Because plastic is not an issue. Because the leather comes from cattle in southern Germany and it is vegetable-tanned in a tannery in Baden-Wurttemberg. And because it is so nice that Pascal has created a smart bridge between tradition and zeitgeist with his concept.

DUKTA has not been around that long. But we managed to talk for an entire afternoon about the history of the origins, leather and product development. And kept touching the wallets, cardholders and bags because they were simply implemented in such a refined and fascinating way and are so delight in the hands.

DUKTA is the reduction of the reduction. And that is the concept of the products. I do without anything that doesn’t make sense, that isn’t necessary. Everything about my pieces has a function

It is clear that a conversation with a passionate perfectionist who builds and tinkers with his products for as long as they can not be further reduced and optimized cannot be short. Still, it is inspiring down to the last sentence.

DUKTA

Pascal takes me to the DUKTA World, from the cardholder to the bestseller, the wallet No. 3.

my-GREENstyle: How did you come up with the DUKTA idea?.
Pascal Graf: Just like you, it was a coincidence. After studying architecture, my brother and I packed a jute bag and went traveling equipped with a camera. The first stop was in Spain. Then we went to Morocco. In Fes we visited old backyard tanneries. The tanners stand there in a stone tub and tan the leather with their feet. They are passionate tanners and live and love what they do. Everyone has his own tricks and techniques and they put so much heart and soul into their work. We were very impressed.

my-GREENstyle: And you wanted to share this enthusiasm …
Pascal Graf: We shot a documentary series on site and traced a tanner’s day. With film snippits from the first person’s perspective – you can always see the hands of the tanner and can therefore empathize with the situation very well. Start: half past three in the morning. The day starts in the main market. The trucks that arrive there are loaded with skins twice as high as their actual height. And then there is haggling. Back in town, the raw material is cut, the fur removed … Our enthusiasm for leather was born. Back at home we showed our film at the MCBW (Munich Creative Business Week) and we developed the first leather products under the name DUKTA. The parts looked very different from today. And were also made from a different leather. But it was the beginning of our label.

Products have to be well thought out. Longevity and quality must be part of the design process.

I try to do that as correctly as possible here on a small scale. When my brother focused on his photo career again in 2018, I decided to continue the label independently.

DUKTA

The result of years of work with his products: the (excellent!) One-piece origami folding, in which almost all seams can be dispensed with.

my-GREENstyle: Can you tell us what is behind the one-piece origami fold?
Pascal Graf: I developed this technology and use it for all my products from cardholders to the very large bags. Because the product is cut from the entire leather hide, I can save almost all of the seams. Each fold replaces a seam. This has a maximally positive effect on my parts: a seam that is not there cannot dissolve. What remains are one or two seams that are set in places that have no tensile load. Plastic-free from linen thread and hand-sewn.

A seam that is not there cannot dissolve.

Also the clutch (note: which can also be carried as a crossbody or shoulder bag) is folded from a single piece – including the inner pocket. The locking mechanisms are also exciting. Here, for example, I have incorporated a spring steel clasp, which ensures that the leather fold remains in shape over the long term. It can be closed elegantly with the cartridge button. At any height. Depending on how much is in your pocket.

The folding results in a very special, organic shape. You can tell by looking at the product that it has developed this way. Everything fits together here.

DUKTA

All DUKTA parts are provided with serial numbers and certified. Sure, they are also handcrafted one-offs.

my-GREENstyle: How did you get the idea of ​​folding leather products?
Pascal Graf: In the beginning my products consisted of two or three elements. The one-piece origami fold was a three-year development process that resulted from working with the material. You need patience and you have to give the product the time it takes. Then something useful comes out of it. For example a fold.

Every step that actually makes the product easier offers added value

By the time I got there, I made a whole box of prototypes out of cardboard, felt, and leather. I kept reducing the products. And every reduction makes sense and offers added value. Because the corner is no longer fixed, I have more space for coins. The missing seam creates an additional compartment for parking tickets & Co.

Many people do not deal with things fundamentally. It’s all about that something can be produced as quickly as possible. That is usually not useful. Pascal Graf, DUKTA

Why does Pascal sew everything by hand? It has something to do with quality. The machine seam has an upper and a lower thread. One makes a loop and the other wanders through it. If it tears somewhere, the seam will separate itself. If he sews his classic saddlery seam by hand, he uses two needles at the same time. Because it works in opposite directions, the leather is covered on both sides – the seam does not open. He uses linen thread for this because it is one of the most durable natural fibers. And because everything at DUKTA has been carefully thought out and consistent down to the last detail, it is coated with beeswax from the Lake Constance region, making it even more durable.

DUKTA

Welcome to the DUKTA workshop. Except for the use of the CO2 laser, everything is still done by hand.

 


Small leather lexicon by DUKTA

Pascal was so impressed by the tanners in Fes, Morocco that he founded DUKTA. In order to meet his requirements, he went to Germany in search of the appropriate qualities, got deeper into the subject and researched what types of leather there are and what differences there are. How is it tanned. We learned so much during our conversation – that we really want to share it here

Leather tanning

After the trip, Pascal realized that there are huge differences in leather. There are three broad main directions: synthetic tanned leather, mineral tanned leather, which is mostly chrome3 tanned, and vegetable tanned leather.

Vegetable tanning

Vegetable tanning is a very old and meaningful tradition. Wood flour, wood bark, rhubarb root and olives are used. Unfortunately, due to time and cost reasons, it has given way to the cheap version with chrome. Vegetable tanning makes more sense for everyone involved from the tanner to the consumer.

Tanning with chrome

90 percent of the leather that is processed is chrome-tanned. Most of it is used by workers, some of them children, under dire circumstances e.g. produced in India and Bangladesh. Often people work there without protective clothing. The workers do not only have contact with the chrome lye with their feet. They often suffer serious damage to their health from exposure to chromium. The average life expectancy of workers is 50 years. The wastewater is discharged untreated into the rivers. Fields are irrigated with it. Leftover leather is burned and worked into the fields as fertilizer. Everything is recycled and causes damage everywhere. Land, people and animals are contaminated by chrome.

Many people are simply not yet aware of the cycles. It doesn’t stop in India either. That goes on to us.

Chromium 3 leather, in the form of a steering wheel, a bag, a seat cover, can transform into Chromium 6 when exposed to sunlight and penetrate the body. The problems don’t stay where they are put. Here in Germany, too, they cause damage to us.

Synthetically tanned leather

Synthetic tanning involves tanning with the help of materials that are artificially produced. Synthetically tanned leather is more susceptible to liquids and heat and is therefore often used in conjunction with one of the other tanning processes.

♦ Conventional leather dyeing

Most leathers are surface coated. A basic color is available, but a PU lacquer is sprayed on as a finish, which defines the color and provides an embossing for the desired surface structure.

♦ Traditional dyeing

The DUKTA leather is tanned in the tannery according to Pascal’s ideas – in the three versions cognac, brown and black. These are very original tones, which also reflect the color of the tanning. This is made possible by adding aniline, a very old dyeing technique. To do this, the hides lie in a pit until the leather is dyed through. That makes the big difference to the conventional method.

♦ Split leather

Split leather is often used. Means: The leather is cut apart in the middle. The inner, fibrous side is used and is often coated with plastics. The skin structure is embossed with an embossing roller. Looks like leather but is only partially leather.

♦ Upper leather

At DUKTA only upper leather is used – it is the most compact, the strongest, the most robust.

♦ Leather thickness

For each product I have a special leather thickness that makes sense for this product.

Any questions? Feel free to contact the experts directly at info@dukta.de


The DUKTA bestsellers? These are the cardholder 2.2. and the wallet No. 3, which was also the first product – even if it did not correspond to today’s shape at the beginning. Both very flexible products. 12 cards fit in the wallet and it works for all note sizes with appropriate graduation. It’s no wonder that it has now been included twice in the selection of the Green Product Award and has been awarded the Bavarian State Prize for one-piece origami folding.

my-GREENstyle: How can we imagine the creation of a DUKTA product?
Pascal Graf: Product development begins with me filling a stack of sketchbooks with drawings. This is how I develop a form that can go into series production and is still consistent. The next step is paper and cardboard samples. It is glued, folded, tried. Then the first leather models are created, which are cut by hand. Only when the shape fits, it goes to the laser. The things are then digitally redrawn and cut with high precision by my CO2 laser so that I can reproduce my products. The resulting patterns are then folded, sewn by hand and riveted.

DUKTA

What did I learn today? A lot about leather, enthusiasm and creative visions.

Yeah, that’s fun: let’s make a DUKTA belt

Pascal showed us everything – from the first to the last step, so that you can imagine how many work steps are necessary to produce a high-quality belt. The result is a real gem for Florens (which I will definitely borrow from time to time!).

A clean edge is defined with the metal ruler, fixed and then cut so that the hide can lie down. Only then is it shaped with the belt cutter, which is equipped with a razor blade and a distance meter. It can also be done electrically, but Pascal relies on manual work. This creates the belt, a leather strap that serves as the basis for all further steps. The usual lengths are produced – unless you express other wishes.

Good to know: the hip circumference is calculated from the center hole to the locking mechanism.

This page is having a slideshow that uses Javascript. Your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page as it is meant to appear please use a Javascript enabled browser.

Slider Powered by Glam WordPress Slider Plugin.
The length from the center hole to the locking mechanism is measured with a leather strap.

The length from the center hole to the locking mechanism is measured with a leather strap.

Only then is it shaped with the belt cutter, which is equipped with a razor blade and a distance knife.

Only then is it shaped with the belt cutter, which is equipped with a razor blade and a distance knife.

It can also be done electrically, but Pascal relies on manual work.

It can also be done electrically, but Pascal relies on manual work.

The result is the strap, a leather strap that serves as the basis for all further steps.

The result is the strap, a leather strap that serves as the basis for all further steps.

The usual lengths are produced - unless you express other wishes.

The usual lengths are produced - unless you express other wishes.

Then the holes are punched

Then the holes are punched

The curve at the end of the belt is defined with a hammer, shaped and then cleaned.

The curve at the end of the belt is defined with a hammer, shaped and then cleaned.

I tried it too, but was really happy when I was allowed to hand over the punch and hammer to the professional again.

I tried it too, but was really happy when I was allowed to hand over the punch and hammer to the professional again.

Water jet cut spring steel elements give the belt stability at the point where the mandrel sits.

Water jet cut spring steel elements give the belt stability at the point where the mandrel sits.

This ensures that the belt can be closed perfectly over a long time.

This ensures that the belt can be closed perfectly over a long time.

Then the belt is thinned in the closing area

Then the belt is thinned in the closing area

The leather latch used as a clasp is also laser cut.

The leather latch used as a clasp is also laser cut.

It is fixed with screw rivets.

It is fixed with screw rivets.

In holes that are first predefined and then punched. Finished.

In holes that are first predefined and then punched. Finished.

The curve at the end of the belt is defined with a hammer, shaped and then cleaned. Then the holes are punched (I tried it too, but was really happy when I was allowed to hand over the punch and hammer to the professional again).

I developed some of my tools myself – just like my techniques.

Another trick: water-jet cut spring steel elements give the belt stability at the point where the mandrel sits. This ensures that the belt can be closed perfectly over the long term. Then the belt is thinned in the closing area. The belt loop is also laser cut. It is fixed with screw rivets. In holes that are first predefined and then punched. Finished.

DUKTA

My favorite piece? Hard to say, but the # 2 wallet in cognac is amazing.

A saddler would work differently. But that’s exactly what’s exciting. Otherwise Pascal would never have come across the one-piece origami fold. If you come from a different direction and deal with things, you often come up with completely different ideas. He had a shoemaker show him a lot, which gave him an appropriate basis – otherwise it’s work in progress. Anything that makes sense.

my-GREENstyle: The architect will definitely get through.
Pascal Graf: I have never worked as an architect, but I see it as a very similar task. What I don’t really care about the architecture – you have a long way to go before something comes out of it. And you have a lot of restrictions from all possible directions. It felt a bit unfree to me. Here I have developed a “playground” where I can work very freely and reach a goal relatively quickly.

Having ideas and implementing them – I find this process very interesting. That’s why I studied architecture.

my-GREENstyle: You can do it all by yourself?
Pascal Graf: I still do all the work myself. Except for two women whom I have instructed and who now support me with sewing. I even made instruction videos. It works very well. But not with all products. I’ll sew them myself.

Good to know: DUKTA also accepts commissioned work. Some customers have requests for changes to a product or want to contribute their own ideas. He likes to do that – because he gets direct customer feedback and come across exciting ideas that he can develop further and use for himself.

Pascal is continuously optimizing. Just as long as he finds something that can be improved on his product. In the case of wallets and cardholders, however, he is satisfied. There is no longer any possibility of optimization. They are thoroughly optimized. A lot of development work has gone into this, including for all other products. Pascal is gradually expanding his small, fine portfolio. The belts were added about three years ago and the bags two years ago. And three products are currently in the final phase and will be ready soon. They are a logical continuation of his previous work. One will be a bum bag. It’s about details like the locking mechanism – Pascal doesn’t work with zippers because they break. What’s next? Stay tuned …

Discover the DUKTA world here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites

13506 updated post view 780

Dass Portemonnaie nicht gleich Portemonnaie ist und wieviel Kreativität und Einsatz in einem einzigen Produkt stecken kann, haben wir bei DUKTA gelernt.

ANZEIGE

Copy3ofFashionSummit1

***Advertorial***

Warum man von DUKTA so begeistert sein muss? Weil die Brand-Geschichte so konsequent durchdacht und unglaublich authentisch ist. Weil die Produkte so herrlich minimalistisch und funktional sind. Weil keine Naht zuviel genäht wird. Weil Plastik kein Thema ist. Weil das Leder von Rindern aus Süddeutschland stammt und es in einer Gerberei in Baden-Württemberg pflanzlich gegerbt wird. Und weil es so schön ist, dass Pascal mit seinem Konzept eine smarte Brücke zwischen Tradition und Zeitgeist geschaffen hat.

So lange gibt es DUKTA noch gar nicht. Aber wir haben es geschafft, einen kompletten Nachmittag über die Entstehungsgeschichte, Leder und die Produktentwicklung zu sprechen. Und haben immer wieder die Portemonnaies, Cardholder und Taschen angefasst, weil sie einfach so raffiniert-faszinierend umgesetzt wurden und so herrliche Handschmeichler sind.

DUKTA ist die Reduktion der Reduktion. Und das ist das Konzept der Produkte. Ich verzichte auf alles, was keinen Sinn macht, was nicht nötig ist. Alles an meinen Stücken hat eine Funktion

Dass ein Gespräch mit einem passionierten Perfektionisten, der genauso lange an seinen Produkten herumbastelt und tüftelt, bis sie nicht weiter reduziert und optimiert werden können, nicht kurz sein kann, ist klar. Begeisternd ist es allerdings trotzdem bis zum letzten Satz.

DUKTA

Pascal entführt mich in die DUKTA World vom Cardholder bis hin zum Bestseller, dem Portemonnaie Nr. 3.

my-GREENstyle: Zurück und Anfang – wie kamst Du auf die DUKTA-Idee?.
Pascal Graf: Das war genauso wie bei Euch ein Zufall. Nach meinem Architekturstudium haben mein Bruder und ich einen Jutebeutel gepackt und sind jeder mit einer Kamera bewaffnet auf Reisen gegangen. Der erste Stop war in Spanien. Dann ging es weiter nach Marokko. In Fes haben wir alte Hinterhofgerbereien besucht. Die Gerber stehen dort in einem Steinbottich und gerben das Leder mit den Füßen. Sie sind Gerber aus Passion und leben und lieben was sie tun. Jeder hat seine Tricks und Techniken und sie stecken so viel Herzblut in ihre Arbeit. Das hat uns sehr beeindruckt.

my-GREENstyle: Und diese Begeisterung wolltet Ihr teilen…
Pascal Graf: Vor Ort haben wir eine Doku-Reihe gedreht und den Tag eines Gerbers nachgezeichnet. Mit Film-Snippits aus der Ego-Perspektive – man sieht immer die Hände des Gerbers und kann sich deshalb sehr gut in die Situation einfühlen. Start: halb Vier Uhr morgens. Der Tag beginnt auf dem Hauptmarkt. Die LKWs, die dort ankommen, sind doppelt so hoch mit Häuten beladen, wie ihre eigentliche Höhe. Und dann wird gefeilscht. Zurück in der Stadt wird die Rohware beschnitten, das Fell entfernt… Unsere Begeisterung für Leder war entstanden. Zurück in der Heimat haben wir unseren Film auf der MCBW (Munich Creative Business Week) gezeigt und dazu passend haben wir damals die ersten Lederprodukte unter dem Namen DUKTA entwickelt. Die Teile sahen noch ganz anders aus als heute. Und wurden auch aus einem anderen Leder hergestellt. Aber es war der Beginn unseres Labels.

Produkte müssen durchdacht gestaltet werden. Langlebigkeit und Qualität müssen Teil des Designprozesses sein.

Das versuche ich hier im Kleinen so richtig wie möglich zu machen. Als mein Bruder sich 2018 wieder auf seine Fotokarriere konzentriert hat, habe ich entschieden das Label selbständig weiterzuführen.

DUKTA

Das Ergebnis jahrelanger Arbeit mit seinen Produkten: die (ausgezeichnete!) One-Piece-Origami-Faltung, bei der auf fast alle Nähte verzichtet werden kann.

my-GREENstyle: Verrätst Du uns, was sich hinter der One-Piece-Origami-Faltung verbirgt?
Pascal Graf: Diese Technik habe ich entwickelt und nutze sie bei allen meinen Produkten vom Cardholder bis zu den ganz großen Taschen. Weil das Produkt aus der ganzen Lederhaut geschnitten wird, kann ich mir fast alle Nähte sparen. Jede Faltung ersetzt eine Naht. Das hat einen maximal positiven Effekt auf meine Teile: Eine Naht, die nicht da ist, kann sich nicht auflösen. Was übrig bleibt sind ein bis zwei Nähte, die an Stellen angesetzt sind, die keine Zugbelastung haben. Plastikfrei aus Leinenzwirn und handgenäht.

Eine Naht, die nicht da ist, kann sich nicht auflösen.

Auch die Clutch (Anmerkung: die sich nebenbei erwähnt auch als Crossbody- oder Schultertasche tragen lässt) ist aus einem einzelnen Stück – inklusive der Innentasche – gefaltet. Spannend sind auch die Schließmechanismen. Hier habe ich zum Beispiel eine Federstahlspange eingearbeitet, die dafür sorgt, dass die Lederfalte dauerhaft belastbar in Form bleibt. Mit dem Patronenknopf lässt sie sich elegant schließen. Auf jeder Höhe. Je nachdem wieviel in der Tasche steckt.

Durch die Faltung ergibt sich eine ganz besondere, organische Form. Man sieht dem Produkt an, dass es sich so entwickelt hat. Hier passt alles zusammen.

DUKTA

Alle DUKTA Teile sind mit Seriennummern versehen und zertifiziert. Klar, sind ja auch handgefertigte Unikate.

my-GREENstyle: Wie kommt man denn auf die Idee, Leder-Produkte zu falten?
Pascal Graf: Anfangs haben meine Produkte aus zwei bis drei Elementen bestanden. Die One-Piece-Origami-Faltung war ein dreijähriger Entwicklungsprozess, der sich aus der Arbeit mit dem Material ergeben hat. Man braucht Geduld und muss dem Produkt seine Zeit geben, die es braucht. Dann kommt etwas Sinnvolles dabei raus. Zum Beispiel eine Faltung.

Jeder Schritt, der das Produkt eigentlich einfacher macht, bietet einen Mehrwert

Bis ich soweit war, habe ich eine ganze Kiste mit Prototypen aus Pappe, Filz, Leder angefertigt. Ich habe die Produkte immer weiter reduziert. Und jede Reduktion macht Sinn und bietet einen Mehrwert. Dadurch dass die Ecke nicht mehr fixiert ist, habe ich mehr Platz für Kleingeld. Durch die fehlende Naht entsteht ein Zusatzfach für Parktickets & Co.

Viele Menschen beschäftigen sich nicht grundlegend mit den Sachen. Da geht es nur darum, das möglichst schnell etwas produziert werden kann. Das ist meist nicht sinnvoll. Pascal Graf, DUKTA

Warum Pascal alles von Hand näht? Das hat etwas mit Qualität zu tun. Bei der Maschinennaht gibt es einen Ober- und einen Unterfaden. Der eine macht eine Schlaufe und der andere wandert da durch. Reißt er irgendwo, trennt sich die Naht von alleine auf. Näht er seine klassische Sattlernaht mit der Hand, benutzt er zwei Nadeln gleichzeitig. Weil er gegenläufig arbeitet wird das Leder beidseitig umfasst – die Naht geht nicht auf. Dazu verwendet er einen Leinenzwirn, weil das eine der langlebigsten natürlichen Fasern ist. Und weil bei DUKTA alles bis ins letzte Detail durchdacht und konsequent ist, wird er mit Bienenwachs aus der Bodenseeregion bemantelt und so noch strapazierfähiger.

DUKTA

Willkommen in der DUKTA-Werkstatt. Hier entsteht, bis auf den Einsatz des CO2 Lasers, noch alles von Hand.

 


Kleines Leder-1×1 by DUKTA

Die Gerber in Fes, Marokko haben Pascal so sehr begeistert, dass er DUKTA gegründet hat. Um seinen Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden, hat er sich in Deutschland auf die Suche nach entsprechenden Qualitäten gemacht, ist tiefer in die Materie eingestiegen und hat recherchiert, was für Leder und welche Unterschiede es gibt. Wie ist es gegerbt. Bei unserem Gespräch haben wir so viel gelernt – das wir es hier unbedingt teilen möchten

Gerb-Verfahren

Nach der Reise wurde Pascal bewusst, dass es ganz große Unterschiede beim Leder gibt. Es gibt drei grobe Hauptrichtungen: synthetisch gegerbtes Leder, mineralisch gegerbtes Leder, das meistens Chrom3 gegerbt ist und pflanzlich gegerbtes Leder.

Pflanzliches Gerben

Pflanzliches Gerben ist eine ganz alte und sinnvolle Tradition. Gearbeitet wird mit Holzmehl, Holzrinden, Rhabarberwurzel, Olive. Leider ist sie aus Zeit- und Kostengründen der billigen Variante mit Chrom gewichen. Pflanzliches Gerben macht für jeden Beteiligten vom Gerber bis zum Konsumenten mehr Sinn.

Gerben mit Chrom

90 Prozent des Leders, das weiterverarbeitet wird, ist chromgegerbt. Der größte Teil wird wird von Arbeitern, unter ihnen teilweise auch Kinder, unter schlimmen Umständen z.B. in Indien und Bangladesch produziert. Dort wird oft ohne Schutzkleidung gearbeitet. Die Arbeiter haben nicht nur mit den Füßen Kontakt zur Chromlauge. Sie erleiden häufig  schwere gesundheitliche Schäden durch die Chrombelastung. Die Lebenserwartung der Arbeiter liegt durchschnittlich bei 50 Jahren. Das Abwasser wird ungeklärt in die Flüsse geleitet. Felder werden damit bewässert. Lederreste werden verbrannt und als Dünger in die Äcker eingearbeitet. Alles wird verwertet und richtet überall Schaden an. Landstriche, Menschen und Tiere werden vom Chrom verseucht.

Die Kreisläufe sind vielen Menschen einfach noch nicht bewusst. Das hört auch nicht in Indien auf. Das geht zu uns weiter.

Chrom3-Leder, in Form eines Lenkrades, einer Tasche, eines Sitzbezuges kann sich unter Sonneneinstrahlung in Chrom6 umwandeln und in den Körper eindringen. Die Probleme bleiben nicht dort wo man sie hinschiebt. Auch hier in Deutschland richten sie bei uns Schaden an.

Synthetisch gegerbtes Leder

Bei der synthetischen Gerbung wird mit Hilfe von Stoffen, die künstlich hergestellt werden, gegerbt. Synthetisch gegerbtes Leder ist anfälliger gegenüber Flüssigkeiten und Hitzeeinwirkungen und wird daher häufig im Zusammenspiel mit einem der anderen Gerbverfahren eingesetzt.

Konventionelle Lederfärbung

Die meisten Leder sind oberflächenbeschichtet. Eine Grundfärbung ist zwar vorhanden, aber als Finish wird eine PU-Lackierung aufgespritzt, die die Farbe ausmacht und für eine Prägung für die gewünschte Oberflächenstruktur sorgt.

Traditionelle Färbung

Das DUKTA-Leder wird in der Gerberei nach Pascals Vorstellungen gegerbt – in den drei Ausführungen Cognac, Braun und Schwarz. Das sind sehr ursprüngliche Töne, in der sich auch der Farbton der Gerbung widerspiegelt. Möglich wird das durch die Zugabe von Anilin, eine sehr alte Technik der Färbung. Dazu liegen die Häute in einer Grube, bis das Leder durchgefärbt ist. Das macht den großen Unterschied zur konventionellen Methode.

Spaltleder

Oft wird auch mit Spaltleder gearbeitet. Heißt: Das Leder wird in der Mitte auseinandergeschnitten. Es wird die innere, faserige Seite verwendet und oft mit Kunststoffen beschichtet. Die Hautstruktur wird mit einer Prägewalze geprägt. Sieht aus wie Leder ist aber nur zum Teil Leder.

Oberleder

Bei DUKTA wird ausschließlich Oberleder verwendet – das ist am kompaktesten, am faserstärksten, am robustesten.

Lederstärke

Für jedes Produkt habe ich eine spezielle Lederstärke, die genau für dieses Produkt Sinn macht.

Noch Fragen? Wendet Euch gerne direkt an den Experten unter info@dukta.de


 

Die DUKTA- Bestseller? Das sind der Cardholder 2.2. und das Portemonnaie Nr. 3, das auch das erste Produkt war – auch wenn es am Anfang noch nicht der heutigen Form entsprach. Beides sehr flexible Produkte. In das Portemonnaie passen 12 Karten und es funktioniert für alle Scheingrößen mit entsprechender Staffelung. Wen wundert’s, dass es inzwischen zwei Mal in die Selection des Green Product Award aufgenommen und mit dem Bayerischen Staatspreis für die One-Piece-Origami-Faltung ausgezeichnet wurde.

my-GREENstyle: Wie können wir uns die Entstehung eines DUKTA-Produktes vorstellen?
Pascal Graf: Die Produktentwicklung beginnt damit, dass ich einen Stapel Skizzenbücher mit Zeichnungen fülle. So entwickle ich eine Form, die in Serie gehen kann und trotzdem stimmig ist. Der nächste Schritt sind Papier- und Pappmuster. Es wird geklebt, gefaltet, probiert. Dann entstehen erste Ledermodelle, die von Hand geschnitten werden. Erst wenn die Form passt, geht es an den Laser. Die Sachen werden dann digital umgezeichnet und hochpräzise von meinem CO2 Laser geschnitten, damit ich meine Produkte 1:1 reproduzieren kann. Die so entstandenen Schnittmuster werden dann gefaltet, von Hand genäht und genietet.

DUKTA

Was ich heute gelernt habe? Viel über Leder, Begeisterung und kreative Visionen.

Yeah, that’s fun: let’s make a DUKTA Gürtel

Damit Ihr Euch vorstellen könnt, wie viele Arbeitsschritte nötig sind, um einen qualitativ ausgereiften Gürtel herzustellen, hat Pascal uns alles gezeigt – vom ersten bis zum letzten Schritt. Dabei herausgekommen ist ein echtes Schmuckstück für Florens (das ich mir aber definitiv gelegentlich ausleihen werde!).

Mit dem Metalllineal wird eine saubere Kante definiert, fixiert und dann geschnitten, damit sich die Haut legen kann. Erst dann wird sie mit dem Riemenschneider, der mit einer Rasierklinge und einem Abstandsmesser ausgestattet ist, in Form gebracht. Das geht auch elektrisch, aber Pascal setzt auf Handarbeit. So entsteht der Riemen, ein Lederband, das als Grundlage für alle weiteren Schritte dient. Produziert wird in den gängigen Längen – außer man äußert andere Wünsche.

Gut zu wissen: Der Hüftumfang berechnet sich vom Mittelloch bis zum Schließmechanismus.

This page is having a slideshow that uses Javascript. Your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page as it is meant to appear please use a Javascript enabled browser.

Slider Powered by Glam WordPress Slider Plugin.
Mit einem Lederband wird die Länge vom Mittelloch bis zum Schließmechanismus gemessen.

Mit einem Lederband wird die Länge vom Mittelloch bis zum Schließmechanismus gemessen.

Erst dann wird sie mit dem Riemenschneider, der mit einer Rasierklinge und einem Abstandsmesser ausgestattet ist, in Form gebracht.

Erst dann wird sie mit dem Riemenschneider, der mit einer Rasierklinge und einem Abstandsmesser ausgestattet ist, in Form gebracht.

Das geht auch elektrisch, aber Pascal setzt auf Handarbeit.

Das geht auch elektrisch, aber Pascal setzt auf Handarbeit.

So entsteht der Riemen, ein Lederband, das als Grundlage für alle weiteren Schritte dient.

So entsteht der Riemen, ein Lederband, das als Grundlage für alle weiteren Schritte dient.

Produziert wird in den gängigen Längen – außer man äußert andere Wünsche.

Produziert wird in den gängigen Längen – außer man äußert andere Wünsche.

Dann werden die Löcher gestanzt

Dann werden die Löcher gestanzt

Die Rundung am Gürtelende wird mit dem Schlageisen definiert, in Form gebracht und anschließend gesäubert.

Die Rundung am Gürtelende wird mit dem Schlageisen definiert, in Form gebracht und anschließend gesäubert.

Ich habe es auch probiert, aber war ganz schön happy, als ich Stanzeisen und Hammer wieder an den Profi übergeben durfte.

Ich habe es auch probiert, aber war ganz schön happy, als ich Stanzeisen und Hammer wieder an den Profi übergeben durfte.

Wasserstrahl geschnittene Federstahlelemente, geben dem Gürtel Stabilität an der Stelle, an der der Dorn sitzt.

Wasserstrahl geschnittene Federstahlelemente, geben dem Gürtel Stabilität an der Stelle, an der der Dorn sitzt.

Somit ist gewährleistet, dass der Gürtel sich dauerhaft perfekt schließen lässt.

Somit ist gewährleistet, dass der Gürtel sich dauerhaft perfekt schließen lässt.

Dann wird der Gürtel im Schließbereich ausgedünnt

Dann wird der Gürtel im Schließbereich ausgedünnt

Der Lederriegel, der als Schließe verwendet wird, wird ebenfalls Lasergeschnitten.

Der Lederriegel, der als Schließe verwendet wird, wird ebenfalls Lasergeschnitten.

Fixiert wird er mit Schraubnieten.

Fixiert wird er mit Schraubnieten.

In Löchern, die erst vordefiniert und dann gelocht werden. Fertig.

In Löchern, die erst vordefiniert und dann gelocht werden. Fertig.

Die Rundung am Gürtelende wird mit dem Schlageisen definiert, in Form gebracht und anschließend gesäubert. Dann werden die Löcher gestanzt (ich habe es auch probiert, aber war ganz schön happy, als ich Stanzeisen und Hammer wieder an den Profi übergeben durfte).

Ich habe meine Werkzeuge zum Teil selbst entwickelt – genauso wie meine Techniken.

Noch so ein Trick: Wasserstrahl geschnittene Federstahlelemente, geben dem Gürtel Stabilität an der Stelle, an der der Dorn sitzt. Somit ist gewährleistet, dass der Gürtel sich dauerhaft perfekt schließen lässt. Dann wird der Gürtel im Schließbereich ausgedünnt. Die Gürtelschlaufe wird ebenfalls Lasergeschnitten. Fixiert wird sie mit Schraubnieten. In Löchern, die erst vordefiniert und dann gelocht werden. Fertig.

DUKTA

Mein Lieblingsstück? Schwer zu sagen, aber das Portemonnaie Nr. 2 in Cognac ist unglaublich toll.

Ein Sattler würde anders arbeiten. Aber das ist genau das Spannende. Sonst wäre Pascal nie auf die One-Piece-Origami-Faltung gestoßen. Wenn man von einer anderen Richtung kommt und sich mit Sachen beschäftigt, kommt man oft auf ganz andere Ideen. Er hat sich von einem Schuhmacher sehr viel zeigen lassen, was ihm eine entsprechende Basis gegeben hat – ansonsten ist das work in progress. Alles was Sinn macht.

my-GREENstyle: Der Architekt kommt auf jeden Fall durch.
Pascal Graf: Ich habe zwar nie als Architekt gearbeitet, aber ich sehe das als eine sehr ähnliche Aufgabe. Was mir an der Architektur nicht so sehr liegt – man hat sehr lange Wege, bis etwas daraus wird. Und man hat sehr viele Einschränkungen aus allen möglichen Richtungen. Das hat sich für mich ein bisschen unfrei angefühlt. Hier habe ich mir einen „Spielplatz“ entwickelt auf dem ich sehr frei arbeiten und relativ schnell zu einem Ziel kommen kann.

Ideen haben und umsetzen – ich finde diesen Prozess sehr interessant. Deshalb habe ich Architektur studiert.

my-GREENstyle: Das stemmst Du alles alleine?
Pascal Graf: Ich mache auch heute noch alle Arbeitsschritte selber. Bis auf zwei Damen, die ich angeleitet habe, und die mich inzwischen beim Nähen unterstützen. Ich habe sogar Anleitungsvideos produziert. Das funktioniert sehr gut. Aber nicht bei allen Produkten. Die nähe ich dann selber.

Gut zu wissen: Bei DUKTA werden auch Auftragsarbeiten angenommen. Manche Kunden haben Änderungswünsche an einem Produkt oder wollen ganz eigene Ideen einbringen. Das macht er sehr gerne – da man direktes Kundenfeedback bekommt und auf spannende Ideen stößt, die er weiterentwickeln und für sich nutzen kann.

Pascal optimiert laufend weiter. Genauso lange wie er etwas findet, was sich an seinem Produkten verbessern lässt. Im Falle der Portemonnaies und Cardholder ist er allerdings zufrieden. Hier gibt es keine Optimierungsmöglichkeit mehr. Sie sind durchoptimiert. Hier steckt ganz viel Entwicklungsarbeit, auch für alle anderen Produkte drin. Sein kleines feines Portfolio erweitert Pascal sukzessive. Vor circa drei Jahren kamen die Gürtel dazu, die Taschen vor zwei Jahren. Und gerade sind drei Produkte in der Finalphase, die demnächst fertig werden. Die sind eine logische Fortsetzung seiner bisherigen Arbeit. Das eine wird eine Bauchtasche sein. Da geht es noch um Details wie den Schließmechanismus – mit Reisverschlüssen arbeitet Pascal nicht, weil die kaputt gehen. Wie’s weitergeht? Stay tuned…

Hier die DUKTA-Welt entdecken

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites