14890 updated post view 86

Jetzt unterschreiben für existenzsicherne Löhne für Textilarbeiter*innen #goodclothesfairpay

ANZEIGE

In the meantime, Green and Blue Friday (e.g. Lanius donates ten percent of every purchase to the Healthy Seas initiative on November 15) have established themselves as a sustainable counterpoint to the discount battles of conventional providers. At Armedangels there is this time the ‘slowember’ – discounts on selected products that are available cheaper for one month (November). An alternative to quick consumption – you can spend a month thinking about whether you really want the item of clothing. There are no limits for your creativity.

Discounts or activism. How do sustainable brands deal with the Black Friday topic?

What does Black Friday mean for small sustainable labels? I’m wondering what the correct approach is. Go along, offer ‘good’ discounts and do better. Donate the profit or give the consumption day a different color to draw attention to the fact that the discounts are sustainable? The warehouses must also be emptied here before the new goods arrive. Or should one distance oneself and block the topic. The answer is harder than you think.

Wunderwerk founder and sustainability expert Heiko Wunder has a clear opinion on this topic: For him, Black Friday is a price war that robs small and large companies of the much-needed margins. That’s why Heiko Wunder distances himself from premature sales campaigns and discount battles, because in the end these are at the expense of the quality, the producers and their workers who manufacture the products. Heiko calculates fairly from the start and does not include discount campaigns in the price from the outset in order to generate profits after the reduction.

Means: If you calculate fairly and plan well, you don’t need Black Friday.

And the textile workers? Let’s take a look back at the early part of the textile value chain. To textile workers in Bangladesh, Vietnam, Cambodia… What do discount campaigns mean for textile workers? What do they have to do with the discounts? Incredibly much. Because they pay the real price for the far too cheap prices in the Global North.

Black Friday meant enormous pressure for the workers in the production countries under already inhumane working conditions. In order to be able to guarantee discounts of up to 80% at all, companies already lower the prices when purchasing the goods. Fashion Revolution Germany

Black Friday

But textile workers must not continue to pay the price for our consumer madness. With the EU campaign ‘Good clothes # fair pay’ we collect one million signatures via petition. It takes that many for the European Commission to put the issue of living wages on the agenda. Together we can hold companies and producers accountable.

Use your vote instead of a Black Friday discount.

Sign here >>>

 

A living wage is not a luxury but a basic human right. And this must be anchored at European level. This is exactly what we are demanding across Europe with “Good Clothes, Fair Pay”. Carina Bischof, Fashion Revolution Germany

How do you see that? What approach would you like to see from the fair fashion stores?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites

14872 updated post view 250

Jetzt unterschreiben für existenzsicherne Löhne für Textilarbeiter*innen #goodclothesfairpay

ANZEIGE

Inzwischen haben sich Green und Blue Friday (z.B. Lanius spendet am 15.11. zehn Prozent von jedem Einkaufswert an die Initiative Healthy Seas) etabliert als nachhaltiger Gegenpol zu den Rabattschlachten konventioneller Anbieter. Bei Armedangels gibt es diesmal den ’slowember‘ – Rabatte auf ausgewählte Produkte, die einen Monat (November) lang günstiger erhältlich sind. Eine Alternative zum schnellen Konsum – man kann sich einen Monat lang überlegen, ob man das Kleidungsstück wirklich haben möchte. Der Kreativität sind keine Grenzen gesetzt.

Rabatte oder Aktivismus. Wie gehen nachhaltige Brands mit der Black Friday Thematik um?

Was bedeutet der Black Friday für kleine nachhaltige Labels? Ich frage mich, was der richtige Ansatz ist. Mitgehen, ‚gute‘ Rabatte anbieten und es besser machen. Den Gewinn spenden oder dem Konsumtag eine andere Farbe geben, um darauf aufmerksam zu machen, dass es sich um nachhaltige Rabatte handelt? Die Lager müssen auch hier geleert werden bevor die neue Ware kommt. Oder sollte man sich distanzieren und das Thema blockieren. Die Antwort ist schwieriger als gedacht.

Wunderwerk-Gründer und Nachhaltigkeitsexperte Heiko Wunder hat eine klare Meinung zu diesem Thema: Black Friday ist für ihn eine Preisschlacht, die kleine und große Unternehmen um die dringend benötigten Margen bringt. Deshalb distanziert sich Heiko Wunder von verfrühten Sales-Aktionen und Rabattschlachten, weil diese am Ende zu Lasten der Qualität, der Produzenten und ihrer Arbeiter fallen, die die Produkte fertigen. Heiko kalkuliert von Anfang an fair und rechnet Rabattaktionen nicht von vornherein in den Preis ein, um hinterher noch nach Reduzierung Gewinne zu generieren.

Heißt: Wer fair kalkuliert und gut plant hat keinen Black Friday nötig.

Und die Textilarbeiter*innen? Blicken wir mal zurück in den frühen Teil der textilen Wertschöpfungskette. Auf Textilarbeiter*innen in Bangladesch, Vietnam, Kambodscha… Was bedeuten Rabattaktionen für Textilarbeiter*innen? Was die mit den Rabatten zu tun haben? Unglaublich viel. Denn sie zahlen den wahren Preis für die viel zu billigen Preise im Globalen Norden.

Black Friday bedeutete für die ArbeiterInnen in den Produktionsländern enormen Druck unter ohnehin schon menschenunwürdigen Arbeitsverhältnissen. Um Rabatte bis zu 80% überhaupt gewährleisten zu können, drücken Unternehmen die Preise bereits beim Einkauf der Ware. Fashion Revolution Germany

Black Friday

Aber Textilarbeiter*innen dürfen nicht weiterhin den Preis für unseren Konsumwahnsinn zahlen. Mit der EU Kampagne ‚Good clothes # fair pay‘ sammeln wir eine Million Unterschriften per Petition. So viele braucht es, damit die Europäische Kommission das Thema existenzsichernde Löhne auf die Agenda setzt. Zusammen können wir Unternehmen und Produzenten zur Verantwortung ziehen.

Nutzt eure Stimme, statt einen Black Friday Rabatt.

Hier unterschreiben >>>

 

Ein existenzsichernder Lohn ist kein Luxus, sondern ein grundlegendes Menschenrecht. Und ein solches muss auf europäischer Ebene verankert werden. Genau das fordern wir mit „Good Clothes, Fair Pay“ europaweit ein. Carina Bischof, Fashion Revolution Germany

Wie seht ihr das denn? Welchen Ansatz wünscht ihr euch von den Fair Fashion Stores?

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites