15467 updated post view 356

Blue. Green. Blue. Quiet. Repeat.

ANZEIGE

After more than 20 years I am in Thailand for the third time. Back then for two. Four of us today. Island hopping with our daughters. Get to know the country and its inhabitants. Sniff distant smells and enjoy delicious food. drift. Have time. For us. And to get to know the world a little bit better.

Welcome to Nature Paradise: Tongsai Bay Koh Samui

After three nights in turbulent Bangkok, we spent almost a week on Koh Samui, in the Gulf of Thailand, off the usual tourist paths, in the most beautiful natural paradise of my 52-year-old life. Lush tropical green as far as the eye can see. No car (there are only caddies on the property). No moped noise. Somehow no sound at all. Apart from the chirping of over 75 different bird species and the gentle sound of the sea. And over the whole somehow unreal dreamlike place: blue sky and fluffy fleecy clouds.

The Tongsai Bay motto? Natural To The Core. Luxurious green hospitality on the idyllic island of Koh Samui meets sustainable travel trend setting.

We enter the lobby via a small bridge lined with glass lotus blossoms and find ourselves on an idyllic terrace in no time at all. With a welcome tea in hand, it’s immediately clear: We don’t want to leave here. We sink into the cushions in the wonderfully relaxed lounge. The view sweeps over 50 shades of green to bright blue to the endless expanse of the Gulf of Thailand.

Discovery tour around the main house.

Discovery tour around the main house.

Green. Blue. Green. Blue. As far as the eye can see.

Green. Blue. Green. Blue. As far as the eye can see.

I'm a big fan of this art. Made from fast fashion textile waste!

I'm a big fan of this art. Made from fast fashion textile waste!

Arrived to stay.

Arrived to stay.

Welcome to Tongsai Bay.

Welcome to Tongsai Bay.

Let's go!

Let's go!

Our temporary home away from home? The Tongsai Pool Villa.

How did arriving at the Tongsai Pool Villa feel for us? In short: overwhelming. We enter our accommodation for the coming days via the huge wooden veranda with a free-standing bathtub for wellness at (in front of) home and a four-poster bed with mosquito net for nights in the open air. In front of the huge king size bed? Our private pool, and in the other direction – unsurprisingly at Tongsai Bay – nature’s full load. If you look out the slope from the other direction, you will see that you can hardly see the villas. They disappear in the lush nature.

How awesome is that, please?! Each room category has a freestanding bathtub on the balcony or terrace.

Maybe a quirk – but I love that very much: pillow menus. If I don’t have my beloved pillow, then I like to look for something suitable in the hotel for maximum restful sleep. What can I say? I missed it the first day. And on the second day I was so happy with the offer that I didn’t want to trade it anymore.

It comes as no surprise to me that the current owner’s father (since 2000) slept in a four-poster bed on the beach for three months in order to find the perfect (for him) position for each cottage. Everything is just perfect here. And in harmony with nature.

The boutique resort has 80 poolside suites, as well as hillside cottages and villas. All categories from the Cottage Suite (from 68sqm) to the Seafront Pool Villa (189sqm) can be found at Green Pearls >>>

Sorry, just had to photograph our pool again.

Sorry, just had to photograph our pool again.

Have you ever bathed in such a setting?

Have you ever bathed in such a setting?

The XL windows provide a view of nature (and of Florens and Pauli).

The XL windows provide a view of nature (and of Florens and Pauli).

Of course, what we didn't close at night to enjoy the view for as long as possible...

Of course, what we didn't close at night to enjoy the view for as long as possible...

Welcome to our home away from home 🙂

Welcome to our home away from home 🙂

Tadaaa. The pillow menu. And which one would you like?

Tadaaa. The pillow menu. And which one would you like?

The view from the terrace alone is worth the trip. Breathe in. Exhale. Repeat.

The view from the terrace alone is worth the trip. Breathe in. Exhale. Repeat.

Full plant power ahead

Narrow paths meander across the almost 30-hectare site that slopes down to the sea. 170 plants can be discovered here. I’m not surprised by this number, because with the daily routes and numerous excursions through the complex, one constantly discovers new natural beauties. Like in the botanical garden. Only in real. Speaking of plants: They are grown and cared for in the Organic Garden belonging to the resort. And because I always want to know everything in detail, I was also allowed to look at this dress od near the facility.

Like in the botanical garden.

Like in the botanical garden.

Green stairway to heaven

Green stairway to heaven

On one of the many forays...

On one of the many forays...

Beyond the horizon it's definitely going to be the same...

Beyond the horizon it's definitely going to be the same...

Simply amazing.

Simply amazing.

The Organic Garden. A look behind the sustainable scenes

Composting is done here, cleaning agents are made from fermented pineapple skins in order to be able to do without chemicals in plastic bottles. Body scrubs for the spa are made from the coffee grounds. All other kitchen waste is fermented and used as fertilizer for the organic garden. Leftover food that has no other use is donated to a pig farm and a dog and cat rescue on Koh Samui. In addition, most of the spices for the kitchen grow here.

Mosquito spray? That’s here too. (Of course!) Homemade and refillable at reception.

The warm exhaust air from the Air Con is used for warm water. Plastic straws are replaced by fragrant lemongrass straws – from the Organic Garden, of course. In the rooms there are glass bottles instead of plastic.

Expedition in the Organic Garden

Expedition in the Organic Garden

Waste as a resource

Waste as a resource

Everything is reused here - bathtubs as a rearing station

Everything is reused here - bathtubs as a rearing station

Flagship model: Organic Garden by Tongsai Bay

Flagship model: Organic Garden by Tongsai Bay

A short look back into the history of Tongsai Bay

Tongsai Bay has been around since 1987 when it was the island’s first 5-star resort. The topic of sustainability plays a central role here right from the start, which is noticeable in every little detail. Nothing is left to chance here. To be more precise: Everything is super well thought out and cleverly implemented right from the start. The resort has been integrated into nature. No chemicals are used here. No tree has ever been felled. The Tongsai Bay probably has to preserve this special spot on earth and its – especially animal! – residents taken care of. Pretty safe even if you look at the quite narrow buildings in other places on this and other Thai islands. Some houses could definitely get inspiration here. Whatever they do. The Tongsai Bay is considered a model project for sustainable tourism worldwide.

Almost meditative: the half-moon pool

Almost meditative: the half-moon pool

It's clear who has spent a lot of time here with a book 🙂

It's clear who has spent a lot of time here with a book 🙂

... or in the water ...

... or in the water ...

Good to know: Tongsai Bay has been part of the BanyanTree Group since 2022 and is now called Garrya Tongsai Bay Samui

And always this incredible calm.

O.M.G. The food at Tongsai Bay!

There are two restaurants on the site – the Main Restaurant in the main building, where breakfast takes place, and the Beach Restaurant, where you can eat a la carte, or where we were able to experience the “once in a lifetime” BBQ.

Back to breakfast: One of the many highlights was the breakfast. In an elevated position with a light breeze and waving curtains, just as you would imagine in your wildest dreams: fresh juices, Asian soups, gruffins (my favourite) and creative specials that change every day, which of course I had to try – a culinary journey that is beautiful makes the first hour of the day unforgettable.

There was nothing that didn’t exist. Just like the BBQ buffet in the evening on the beach. I don’t know if I’ve ever had so many great foods on my plate before. Or at the Thai buffet, where we got to know culinary delicacies from all four regions of Thailand.

This is how every morning should start.

This is how every morning should start.

Regional spices

Regional spices

Definitely the best buffet of my life.

Definitely the best buffet of my life.

Breakfast with a view.

Breakfast with a view.

Salad freak.

Salad freak.

Good night.

Good night.

The beach for the active, for whom doing nothing and reading is not enough.

The sand? Beige-pink sandy beach in gently sloping 300 meter long private bay. Underwater you can hear the gentle rippling of the sand in the sand.

Wonderful wooden loungers in the sand and around the beach pool. And if you want to do sports, you can either take part in one of the wonderful yoga classes or go kayaking (check), Hobbie Cat (check) or SUP (check) onto the crystal-clear water to admire the dream bay from the outside. Such a change of perspective is always exciting.

SUP in the sunset.

SUP in the sunset.

Favorite place (at least one of many).

Favorite place (at least one of many).

Water. Sports.

Water. Sports.

Ahoi

Ahoi

The best travel time? Before and after the high season!

School holidays in August. And August is low season and traditionally raining season. Apart from the fact that we still have to travel due to the school holidays this year – I would do it the same way again next time. more relaxed. quieter. cheaper.

Tongsai Bay is also listed on Green Pearls® Unique Places. Green Pearls® Unique Places is a communication agency and information platform for sustainable, handpicked and unique places worldwide. Green Pearls® Unique Places is the world’s leading data source for sustainable places.

Check the sustainable criteria now and book through Green Pearls® Unique Places >>>

Thank you for organizing our unforgettable stay at the 5* Eco Resort The Tongsai Bay.
The stay was organized by Green Pearls Unique Places. And many thanks to the great team (say hi to my friend who is making the best fruit juices ever!) at Tongsai Bay, who made our days in Koh Samui one of the best experiences ever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites

15368 updated post view 504

Blau. Grün. Blau. Ruhe. Repeat.

ANZEIGE

Nach über 20 Jahren bin ich zum dritten Mal in Thailand. Damals zu zweit. Heute zu viert. Island Hopping mit unseren Töchtern. Das Land und seine Bewohner kennenlernen. Ferne Gerüche schnuppern und köstliches Essen genießen. Sich treiben lassen. Zeit haben. Für uns. Und um die Welt ein kleines bisschen besser kennenlernen.

Willkommen im Nature Paradise: Tongsai Bay Koh Samui

Nach drei Nächten im turbulenten Bangkok haben wir auf Koh Samui, im Golf von Thailand, abseits der üblichen Touristenpfade, eine knappe Woche im bislang schönsten Naturparadies meines 52-jährigen Lebens verbracht. Saftiges Tropengrün, soweit das Auge reicht. Kein Auto (auf dem Grundstück gibt’s nur Caddies). Kein Mopedlärm. Irgendwie gar kein Geräusch. Außer Vogelzwitschern von über 75 verschiedenen Vogelarten und leises Meeresrauschen. Und über dem ganzen irgendwie unwirklich traumhaften Ort: blauer Himmel und fluffige Schäfchenwolken.

Das Tongsai Bay Motto? Natural To The Core. Luxuriöse grüne Gastfreundschaft auf der idyllischen Insel Koh Samui trifft auf das Setzen nachhaltiger Reisetrends.

Über eine von gläsernen Lotusblüten gesäumte kleine Brücke betreten wir die Lobby und finden uns im Handumdrehen auf einer idyllischen Terrasse wieder. Mit einem Willkommenstee in der Hand ist sofort klar: Hier wollen wir nicht mehr weg. Wir lassen uns in die Kissen in der herrlich entspannten Lounge sinken. Der Blick schweift über 50 shades of green zu leuchtendem Blau bis in die endlose Weite des Golfs von Thailand.

Discovery tour around the main house.

Discovery tour around the main house.

Green. Blue. Green. Blue. As far as the eye can see.

Green. Blue. Green. Blue. As far as the eye can see.

I'm a big fan of this art. Made from fast fashion textile waste!

I'm a big fan of this art. Made from fast fashion textile waste!

Arrived to stay.

Arrived to stay.

Welcome to Tongsai Bay.

Welcome to Tongsai Bay.

Let's go!

Let's go!

Unser temporäres home away from home? Die Tongsai Pool Villa.

Wie sich das Ankommen in der Tongsai Pool Villa für uns angefühlt hat? Kurz: überwältigend. Über die riesige Holzveranda mit freistehender Badewanne für Wellness at (in front of) Home und Himmelbett mit Moskitonetz für Nächte unter freiem Himmel betreten wir unsere Bleibe für die kommenden Tage. Vor dem riesigen King Size Bett? Unser privater Pool, und in die andere Richtung – wenig überraschend im Tongsai Bay – die volle Ladung Natur. Blickt man aus der anderen Richtung den Hang hinaus stellt man fest: Die Villen sieht man kaum. Sie verschwinden in der satten Natur.

Wie großartig ist das denn, bitte?! Jede Zimmerkategorie verfügt über eine freistehende Badewanne auf dem Balkon oder der Terrasse.

Vielleicht ein Tick – aber das liebe ich sehr: Kissenmenüs. Wenn ich schon nicht mein geliebtes Kissen habe, dann suche ich mir im Hotel gerne etwas Passendes für maximal erholsamen Schlaf aus. Was soll ich sagen? Am ersten Tag habe ich es verpasst. Und am zweiten war ich schon so happy mit dem Angebot, dass ich gar nicht mehr tauschen wollte.

Dass der Vater des heutigen Eigentümers (seit 2000) drei Monate lang in einem Himmelbett am Strand geschlafen hat, um die (für ihn) perfekte Position für jedes Cottage zu finden, wundert mich gar nicht. Hier ist einfach alles perfekt. Und im Einklang mit der Natur.

Das Boutique-Resort verfügt über 80 Suiten am Pool, sowie Cottages und Villen in Hanglage.  Alle Kategorien von der Cottage Suite (ab 68qm) bis zur Seafront Pool Villa (189qm) findet man bei Green Pearls >>>

Sorry, just had to photograph our pool again.

Sorry, just had to photograph our pool again.

Have you ever bathed in such a setting?

Have you ever bathed in such a setting?

The XL windows provide a view of nature (and of Florens and Pauli).

The XL windows provide a view of nature (and of Florens and Pauli).

Of course, what we didn't close at night to enjoy the view for as long as possible...

Of course, what we didn't close at night to enjoy the view for as long as possible...

Welcome to our home away from home 🙂

Welcome to our home away from home 🙂

Tadaaa. The pillow menu. And which one would you like?

Tadaaa. The pillow menu. And which one would you like?

The view from the terrace alone is worth the trip. Breathe in. Exhale. Repeat.

The view from the terrace alone is worth the trip. Breathe in. Exhale. Repeat.

Volle Pflanzenpower voraus

Schmale Wege schlängeln sich über das knapp 30 Hektar große, zum Meer hin abfallenden Gelände. 170 Pflanzen kann man hier entdecken. Diese Zahl überrascht mich nicht, denn bei den täglichen Strecken sowie bei zahlreichen Ausflügen durch die Anlage entdeckt man ständig neue natürliche Schönheiten. Wie im Botanischen Garten. Nur in echt. Apropos Pflanzen: Die werden im zum Resort gehörenden Organic Garden aufgezogen und gepflegt. Und weil ich ja immer alles ganz genau wissen will, durfte ich mir dieses Kleidod in der Nähe der Anlage auch ansehen.

Like in the botanical garden.

Like in the botanical garden.

Green stairway to heaven

Green stairway to heaven

On one of the many forays...

On one of the many forays...

Beyond the horizon it's definitely going to be the same...

Beyond the horizon it's definitely going to be the same...

Simply amazing.

Simply amazing.

The Organic Garden. Blick hinter die nachhaltigen Kulissen

Hier wird kompostiert, hier werden Reinigungsmittel aus fermentierten Ananasschalen selbst hergestellt, um auf Chemie in Plastikflaschen verzichten zu können. Aus dem Kaffeesatz werden Körperpeelings für das Spa produziert. Alle anderen Küchenabfälle werden fermentiert und dienen als Dünger für den Bio-Garten wird. Essenreste, die keine andere Verwendung finden, werden einer Schweinefarm und einer Hunde- und Katzenrettung auf Koh Samui zur Verfügung gestellt. Außerdem wachsen hier die meisten Gewürze für die Küche.

Mosiktospray? Das gibt’s hier auch. (Natürlich!) Selbstgemacht und an der Rezeption nachfüllbar.

Die warme Abluft der Air Con wird für warmes Wasser verwendet. Plastikstrohhalme werden durch duftende Lemongrashalme – natürlich aus dem Organic Garden – ersetzt. Auf den Zimmern gibt’s Glasflaschen statt Plastik.

Expedition in the Organic Garden

Expedition in the Organic Garden

Waste as a resource

Waste as a resource

Everything is reused here - bathtubs as a rearing station

Everything is reused here - bathtubs as a rearing station

Flagship model: Organic Garden by Tongsai Bay

Flagship model: Organic Garden by Tongsai Bay

Kurzer Blick zurück in die Tongsai Bay Historie

Das Tongsai Bay gibt es bereits seit 1987 und war damals das erste 5-Sterne-Resort auf der Insel. Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit spielt hier von Anfang an eine zentrale Rolle, was man in jedem noch so kleinen Detail merkt. Hier ist nichts dem Zufall überlassen. Genauer gesagt: Alles ist superdurchdacht und von Anfang an clever umgesetzt. Das Resort wurde in die Natur integriert. Hier werden keine Chemikalien genutzt. Es wurde noch nie ein Baum gefällt. Voraussichtlich hat das Tongsai Bay für den Erhalt dieses besonderen Fleckchens Erde und seinen – vor allem tierischen! – Bewohnern gesorgt. Ziemlich sicher sogar, wenn man die durchaus enge Bebauung an anderen Stellen dieser und anderer thailändischer Inseln ansieht. Hier könnten sich einige Häuser definitiv Inspiration holen. Was sie auch tun. Das Tongsai Bay gilt weltweit als Vorzeigeprojekt für nachhaltigen Tourismus.

Almost meditative: the half-moon pool

Almost meditative: the half-moon pool

It's clear who has spent a lot of time here with a book 🙂

It's clear who has spent a lot of time here with a book 🙂

... or in the water ...

... or in the water ...

Gut zu wissen: Seit 2022 gehört das Tongsai Bay zur BanyanTree Gruppe und heißt jetzt Garrya Tongsai Bay Samui

Und immer diese unglaubliche Ruhe.

O.M.G. Das Essen im Tongsai Bay!

Auf dem Gelände befinden sich zwei Restaurants – das Main Restaurant im Haupthaus, wo das Frühstück stattfindet und das Beach Restaurant, in dem man a la Carte essen kann, bzw. wo wir das „once in a lifetime“-BBQ erleben durften.

Back to breakfast: Eines der vielen Highlights war das Frühstück. In erhöhter Lage mit leichter Brise und wehenden Vorhängen, so wie man es sich in seinen kühnsten Träumen vorstellt: Frische Säfte, asiatische Suppen, Gruffins (mein Favorit) und täglich wechselnde kreative Specials, die ich natürlich ausprobieren musste  – eine kulinarische Reise, die schon die erste Stunde des Tages unvergessen macht.

Es gab nichts was es nicht gab. Genauso wie beim BBQ-Buffet am Abend am Strand. Ich weiß nicht, ob ich vorher jemals so viele großartige Speisen auf meinem Teller hatte. Oder beim Thai-Buffet, bei dem wir kulinarische Köstlichkeiten aus allen vier Regionen Thailands kennenlernen durften.

This is how every morning should start.

This is how every morning should start.

Regional spices

Regional spices

Definitely the best buffet of my life.

Definitely the best buffet of my life.

Breakfast with a view.

Breakfast with a view.

Salad freak.

Salad freak.

Good night.

Good night.

The Beach. Für die Aktiven, denen Nichtstun und Lesen nicht genug ist.

Der Sand? Beige-rosafarbener Sandstrand in der leicht ansteigenden, 300 Meter langen Privatbucht. Unterwasser kann man die leichte Wellenbewegung im Sand klimpern hören.

Herrliche Holzliegen im Sand und rund um den Beachpool. Und wer sich sportlich betätigen will, nimmt entweder an einer der wunderbaren Yogastunden teil oder begibt sich mit Kajak (check), Hobbie Cat (check) oder SUP (check) auf das kristallklare Wasser, um die Traumbucht von außen zu bewundern. So ein Perspektivwechsel ist immer spannend.

SUP in the sunset.

SUP in the sunset.

Favorite place (at least one of many).

Favorite place (at least one of many).

Water. Sports.

Water. Sports.

Ahoi

Ahoi

Die beste Reisezeit? Vor und nach der Hauptsaison!

Im August sind Schulferien. Und im August ist Nebensaison und traditionell raining season. Abgesehen von der Tatsache, dass wir dieses Jahr noch an die Schulferien gebunden sind reisen müssen – ich würde es auch beim nächsten Mal wieder so machen. Entspannter. Ruhiger. Günstiger.

Das Tongsai Bay ist auch bei Green Pearls® Unique Places gelistet. Green Pearls® Unique Places ist eine Kommunikationsagentur und Informationsplattform für nachhaltige, handverlesene und einzigartige Orte weltweit. Green Pearls® Unique Places ist weltweit die führende Datenquelle für nachhaltige Plätze.

Jetzt die nachhaltigen Kriterien checken und über Green Pearls® Unique Places buchen >>>

Herzlichen Dank für die Organisation unseres unvergesslichen Aufenthaltes im 5*-Eco Resort The Tongsai Bay.
Organisiert wurde der Aufenthalt durch Green Pearls Unique Places. Und herzlichen Dank das großartige Team (say hi to my friend who is making the best fruit juices ever!) des Tongsai Bay, die unsere Tage in Koh Samui zu einem der schönsten Erlebnisse überhaupt gemacht haben.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites