4927 updated post view 2534

The perfect combinatin os sustainability and High Fashion - the vegan Label Umasan

ANZEIGE

Sandra and Anja Umann are for me without a question THE gurus for vegan high fashion. With its Japanese-inspired, avantgarde collections the creative twin sisters demonstrate that sustainability and high fashion not only work together, but that the future lies in this concept. I have visited the Umasan store in Quartier 206 during the Berlin Fashion Week and was in addition to the current collections able to get a first impression of the incredible skin-flattering new collection (who has not touched the Umasan clothes, should do it for sure, so you know what I am speaking about!). With delicious vegan snacks (and gummy bears) I – accompanied by harmonious harp – enjoyed a wonderful break from the bustle of the fashion week and asked Sandra Umann to talk about vegan high fashion.

vegane High Fashion

Sandra Umann, Umasan

Sandra Umann about vegan high fashion of Umasan

my-GREENstyle.com: Veganism is often called a trend. Which name you use?
Sandra Umann: We see it rather as a new, future-oriented lifestyle. Basically it comes to define a new value and quality understanding. It is also about a new kind of attention. Creativity, not standard, vote on needs rather than equality, holistic thinking, not narrow-track thinking, responsible action, not stubbornness are the keys of progress and designs.

my-GREENstyle.com: Are there in your wardrobe “non-vegan” garments?
S.U.: Yes, unfortunately, there are still some relics from ancient times, which we hardly longer wear.

my-GREENstyle.com: Strictly vegan high fashion from your own collection, or pieces of other labels?
S.U.: By now virtually no longer, because we became so accustomed to the wearing comfort and our skin is very sensitive.

my-GREENstyle.com: And which?
S.U.: One or two pieces of YY’s (Note: Yohji Yamamoto) I probably have still in the repertoire : )

Purity, peace and respect for nature – Umasan 

my-GREENstyle.com: The Umasan style in three words?
S.U.: Timeless, innovative, purist … the simplicity in design – by reduction to the essentials – plays a fundamental role to create maximum clarity. Important for UMASAN are criterias as grace and understated elegance. The subtraction is important, not the addition. By reducing on the basic message, we increase the overall significance of a garment, and even more of its wearer. UMASAN takes up the fundamental Zen principles purity, peace and respect for nature and sets it in line with a new, innovative design and material language.
my-GREENstyle.com: And what about your personal style? How would you describe it?
S.U.: Reduced, clear contemporaneously in black.

The Umasan target group? The “change avantgarde” as new social dimension!

my-GREENstyle.com: To which target group you speak with Umasan?
S.U.: The “change avantgarde” as new social dimension: A post-materially influenced society, which calls for a new value orientation, with the central desire for self-development. The credo: A balanced life believing in the feasibility of a better world, which is not achieved by sacrifice, but by better ideas, intelligent technologies and active public spirit. The motto: consume without restriction and thereby feel even better. We also like to talk to the people, who have not yet dealt with the subject vegan or even green fashion or have prejudices against these issues. We do this quite well by addressing first with the design, people will open themselves up more and more to these themes.

my-GREENstyle.com: You are known for the use of innovative materials such as soy silk, Seacell, Tencel & Co. Is there a favorite material?
S.U.: Yes, we love to work with Tencel C and brand new with recy paper and pet.

my-GREENstyle.com: What is the average recycled content of your collections?
S.U.: That will be about 25 percent of the collection.

For every designer there are good opportunities to take a moral stance. 

my-GREENstyle.com: Why are so many high-fashion designers still do not dare approach the issue of sustainability?
S.U.: We live in a world of technological progress, which allows us much easier to practice sustainability, than it was the case about ten years ago. Unfortunately, ethical and sustainable action is still more expensive than the ignorance of these values. The task of the coming years in business and politics is to make sustainability in the overall balance of a product for the consumer cheaper than the comparable conventional way. Nevertheless, I believe that there are good opportunities already for any designer today to take a moral stance.

my-GREENstyle.com: And what is the Umasan communication strategy?
S.U.: For us, the challenge is to dispense with established “eco-clichés”. Will say that we need to address and win the customers primarily over the design respectively, the aesthetic statement of the collection. The ecological requirement is then “on top” – this strengthens possibly a purchase decision, but should not be the determining decision factor. Our consumer society needs the incentive of beautiful things, to do good and the customer should not feel a sense of abandonment or “either-or”. The majority of the “eco-labels” on the market, communicating mainly via the aspect of “ecological” and leave it out the design appear.

Design won´t exist without ethics and sustainability in the future.

my-GREENstyle.com: Sustainable fashion as a mass phenomenon. Imaginable for you?
S.U.: In any case, we are looking at the future, precisely also in the crowd. Design won´t exist in the future without ethics and sustainability. Quality no longer defines itself solely through external attributes, but must convince a holistic concept value. Primarily a product is indeed responsive always exceptional design, but design increasingly requires the rethinking of EGO to ECO.

my-GREENstyle.com: What you’re wearing?
S.U.: UMASAN – black long dress … perfect for a summer day like today : )

Thanks for the interview about vegan high fashion, Sandra!

Learn more? Click here for the label Portrait of Umasan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites

4865 updated post view 3845

Die perfekte Kombination von Nachhaltigkeit und High Fashion - das vegane Label Umasan

ANZEIGE

Sandra und Anja Umann sind für mich ohne Frage DIE Gurus für vegane High Fashion. Mit ihren japanisch inspirierten, avantgardistischen Kollektionen beweisen die kreativen Zwillingsschwestern, dass Nachhaltigkeit und High Fashion nicht nur zusammen funktionieren, sondern, dass in diesem Konzept die Zukunft liegt. Ich habe den Umasan-Store im Quartier 206 während der Berlin Fashion Week besucht und konnte mir neben der aktuellen Kollektionen einen ersten Eindruck von der unfassbar hautschmeichelnden (wer die Umasan-Teile noch nicht angefasst hat, sollte das unbedingt nachholen, damit er weiß wovon ich spreche!) neuen Kollektion machen. Bei köstlichen veganen Häppchen (und Gummibären) habe ich – begleitet von harmonischen Harfenklängen – eine herrliche Auszeit vom Trubel der Modewoche genossen und Sandra Umann um ein Gespräch über vegane High Fashion gebeten.

vegane High Fashion

Sandra Umann, Umasan

Sandra Umann über vegane High Fashion von Umasan

my-GREENstyle.com: Veganismus wird häufig als Trend bezeichnet. Welche Bezeichnung nutzt Ihr?
Sandra Umann: Wir sehen es vielmehr als einen neuen, zukunftsweisenden Lifestyle. Grundsätzlich geht es darum ein neues Werte- und Qualitätsverständnis zu definieren. Es geht aber auch um eine neue Art der Aufmerksamkeit. Kreativität, nicht Norm, Abstimmung auf Bedürfnisse, nicht Gleichmacherei, ganzheitliches Denken, nicht Schmalspurdenken, verantwortungsvolles Handeln, nicht Starrsinn sind die Schlüssel des Fortschritts und des Designs.

my-GREENstyle.com: Befinden sich in Deinem Kleiderschrank auch „nicht-vegane“ Kleidungsstücke?
S.U.: Ja, leider gibt es da noch einige Relikte aus alten Zeiten, die wir allerdings kaum mehr tragen.

my-GREENstyle.com: Ausschließlich vegane High Fashion aus Eurer eigenen Kollektion, oder tragt Ihr auch andere Labels?
S.U.: Mittlerweile so gut wie nicht mehr, da wir uns so sehr an den Tragekomfort gewöhnt haben und unsere Haut sehr sensibel ist.

my-GREENstyle.com: Und welche?
S.U.: Ein, zwei Teile von YY’s (Anmerkung: Yohji Yamamoto) habe ich wohl noch im Repertoire : )

Reinheit, Ruhe und Respekt für die Natur – Umasan.

my-GREENstyle.com: Der Umasan-Stil in drei Worten?
S.U.: Zeitlos, innovative, puristisch… die Schlichtheit im Design – durch Reduzierung auf das Wesentliche – spielt eine elementare Rolle um eine größtmögliche Klarheit zu schaffen. Wichtig sind für UMASAN Kriterien wie Anmut und unaufdringliche Eleganz. Die Subtraktion steht im Vordergrund nicht die Addition. Durch die Reduktion auf die grundlegende Aussage erhöhen wir die allgemeine Aussagekraft eines Kleidungsstückes, mehr noch seines Trägers. UMASAN greift die fundamentalen Zen-Prinzipien Reinheit, Ruhe und Respekt für die Natur auf und setzt diese in Einklang mit einer neuen, innovativen Design- und Materialsprache.

my-GREENstyle.com: Und wie sieht es mit Deinem privaten Stil aus? Wie würdest Du den beschreiben?
S.U.: Reduziert, klar, kontemporär in black.

Die Umasan-Zielgruppe? Die „change avantgarde” als neue soziale Dimension!

my-GREENstyle.com: Welche Zielgruppe sprecht Ihr mit Umasan an?
S.U.: Die „change avantgarde” als neue soziale Dimension: Eine post-materiell geprägte Gesellschaft, welche nach einer neuen Werteorientierung verlangt, mit dem zentralen Wunsch nach Selbstentfaltung. Das Credo: Eine balancierte Lebensweise im Glauben an die Machbarkeit einer besseren Welt, die nicht durch Verzicht, sondern durch bessere Ideen, intelligente Technologien und aktivem Gemeinsinn erreicht wird. Das Motto: ohne Einschränkung konsumieren und sich dabei sogar besser fühlen. Ferner sprechen wir gern die Leute an, welche sich bisher noch nicht mit dem Thema vegan oder auch green fashion beschäftigt haben bzw. Vorurteile gegenüber diesen Themen haben. Dies gelingt uns ganz gut, indem wir zunächst über das Design ansprechen, die Menschen öffnen sich dann mehr und mehr diesen Themen.

my-GREENstyle.com: Ihr seid bekannt für die Verwendung innovativer Materialien wie Sojaseide, Seacell, Tencel & Co. Gibt es ein Lieblingsmaterial?
S.U.: Ja, wir arbeiten sehr gern mit Tencel C und ganz neu mit recy paper und pet.

my-GREENstyle.com: Wie hoch ist der Recycling-Anteil an Euren Kollektionen?
S.U.: Das sind circa 25 Prozent der Kollektion.

Für jeden Designer gibt es gute Möglichkeiten eine moralische Haltung einzunehmen.

my-GREENstyle.com: Warum trauen sich so viele High-Fashion-Designer immer noch nicht an das Thema Nachhaltigkeit heran?
S.U.: Wir leben in einer Welt des technologischen Fortschritts, der es uns ermöglicht Nachhaltigkeit um vieles einfacher zu praktizieren, als dies noch vor etwa zehn Jahren der Fall war. Leider ist ethisches und nachhaltiges Handeln jedoch immer noch teurer, als die Ignoranz dieser Werte. Die Aufgabe der kommenden Jahre in Wirtschaft und Politik besteht darin, Nachhaltigkeit in der Gesamtbilanz eines Produkts für den Verbraucher günstiger zum machen, als der vergleichbare konventionelle Weg. Dennoch bin ich der Meinung, dass es auch heute schon für jeden Designer gute Möglichkeiten gibt eine moralische Haltung einzunehmen.

my-GREENstyle.com: Und wie sieht die Umasan-Kommunikationsstrategie aus?
S.U.: Für uns besteht die Herausforderung darin besteht, mit den alten „Öko-Klischees“ aufzuräumen. Will sagen, dass wir den Kunden primär über das Design respektive die ästhetische Aussage der Kollektion ansprechen bzw. gewinnen müssen. Den ökologischen Anspruch gibt es dann „on top“ – dies stärkt ggf. eine Kaufentscheidung, sollte jedoch nicht der ausschlaggebende Entscheidungsfaktor sein. Unsere Konsumgesellschaft benötigt den Anreiz schöner Dinge, um Gutes zu tun und der Kunde sollte dabei nicht ein Gefühl von Verzicht bzw. „entweder oder“ verspüren. Die Majorität der „Ökolabels“ auf dem Markt, kommuniziert maßgeblich über den Aspekt des „ökologischen“ und lassen dies auch im Design hervor scheinen.

Design wird in Zukunft nicht mehr ohne Ethik – und Nachhaltigkeitsanspruch bestehen können.

my-GREENstyle.com: Nachhaltige Mode als Massenphänomen. Für Dich vorstellbar?
S.U.: In jedem Fall sehen wir hier die Zukunft, eben auch in der breiten Masse. Design wird in der Zukunft nicht mehr ohne den Ethik – und Nachhaltigkeitsanspruch bestehen können. Qualität definiert sich nicht länger allein über äußerliche Attribute, sondern muss durch ein ganzheitliches Wertekonzept überzeugen. In erster Linie wird ein Produkt zwar immer über außergewöhnliches Design ansprechen, doch Design erfordert zunehmend auch das Umdenken von EGO zu ECO.

my-GREENstyle.com: Was trägst Du gerade?
S.U.: UMASAN – black long dress … perfekt für einem Sommertag wie heute : )

Vielen Dank für das Interview zum Thema vegane High Fashion, Sandra!

Mehr erfahren? Hier geht’s zum Labelporträt von Umasan

Berlin Fashion Week. Mehr Highlights

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites